In the software world, each software has to be upgraded to new versions to cater the ever changing requirements and user demands.
To make the software available to users, it should be installed and published in XenApp. Once published successfully for users for the first time and after that during several new releases of the same application, if there is no change in the application executable name, we don’t need to re-publish it, though it needs to be un-installed and re-installed/upgraded to the new version.
Now there could be two possibilities/scenarios administrator may encounter during the application upgradation:
- Users already connected to the old version of application: Suppose when an administrator has planned to upgrade the application, during the same time, some user from other part of the globe is accessing the application to perform their daily job. In this case, administrator will not be able to upgrade the application as the application has already been locked by users.
- During upgradation, users might try to connect to the application: It is also possible that users might try to access the application while the administrator is in the middle of application upgrade process. This could lead to access denied or some error message to the users that could create some quos in user community and end-up in many helpdesk calls.
To avoid the above scenarios, published application icon can be disabled. It can be disabled by right clicking the application icon in access management console and selecting the option “Disable application”. It can also be disabled by selecting the application properties and selecting the check box “Disable application” as shown in the below diagram. Now when user will try to click on the published icon, he will not be able to launch it. Now user might get irritated as he is able to see the application but not able to access it, so the recommended way is to select the checkbox “Hide disable application” along with the checkbox for “Disabled application”. This way users will not be able to see the published icon.
Once the upgradation is done successfully, the icons can be enabled by right clicking the application icon in access management console or by un-checking the check boxes for disabled and hide disabled application from the application properties screen.
With the above recommendation and proper upgradation/down time window, application can be upgraded without having issues to the users.